My Super Powers

There was a leg day last fall that didn’t go well. It was the first time Trainer Adam had me do free standing squats. I was excited, but something was bothering me and I wasn’t focused. I fell on my butt.

Oh, that would not do.
That’s when I bought my first SuperGirl t-shirt. I now have eight. So I have 8 SUPER POWERS…
1) “S” for Strength
2) “S” for Stubborn
3) “S” for Steady
4) “S” for Sweat
5) “S” for Stamina
6) “S” for Spunk
7) “S” for Stick-to-itiveness
8) “S” for Self-determination
To avoid bouncing on my butt again, I always wear one on a leg day. But I have enough shirts now that I can wear one whenever I feel like I need super-powers.
I’m learning that the mental game in bodybuilding is the most important part. During every workout, there is a moment of distraction and a rep goes wrong – I might lose form or lose strength. I have a couple of routines I go through at the beginning of each workout to get focused. Works pretty well unless I’m emotionally tweeked – which happens. Life can be complicated sometimes. And even if it’s not, and even though I love what I’m doing, two-a-days are tough. Hard to do physically and hard to make time for in life.
On those days, I engage my super-powers.
“You just can’t beat the person who never gives up.” ~ Babe Ruth
“When you promise yourself something, make a commitment, you can’t give up. Because when you’re in the gym, you have to fulfill the promise you made to yourself. The people who can self motivate – in any field – are usually the ones who win. Regardless of talent.” ~ Tom Platz
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

