Celebration Shout Outs!!


On June 19, 2009 I strapped on the bodybugg for the first time. That was the beginning of a very steep learning curve about my body. I’ve learned how to fuel it and how it burns that fuel. My vocabulary changed. My world view changed. Over time, the bugg has become my most important and versatile tool to reach goals. At first, I needed to lose a bunch of weight. Now I’m using it to gain muscle. My first coach and mentor came with the bugg. Kim’s guidance and encouragement changed my life. She taught me so many things. Turned me onto clean eating, which has made a HUGE difference in how I feel and look.

On June 21, 2010 I started personal training with Nico. I had lost 40 pounds on my own in the first year, but I knew I was starting to backslide and needed more help. I know the training we did was basic core strengthening work, but it was needed. I’ve worked with trainers before and they didn’t listen. He did. I have no idea what he thought when this middle-aged, still somewhat overweight woman told him she wanted to be a competitive bodybuilder, but he didn’t discourage me. I remember there was a little look of concern that disappeared when I said “in two years”. He smiled and said something like “six months, no, but two years is doable.” Nico moved and I started working with Adam. I’ve spent a lot of time in this blog describing Adam’s Awesomeness. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about that again.

So this week’s anniversaries are huge milestones for me. The MOST IMPORTANT LESSON? Ask for help and do what you’re told. Follow directions. Don’t argue. The professionals want us to be successful. Resisting anything they say you need to do is literally self-defeating.



Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

