She just wants to "tone".

These are the ingredients I use in my customized protein shakes. There are two kinds, “Growth” and “Anabolic”. The combinations are different because my muscles need different things at different times of the day. (Oops! I forgot to put the vitamin E capsules in the pic.)

Pet peeve – women who lift tiny weights because they are so worried about developing big muscles. Sadly, they won’t have any results, either. They are just in the way in the gym. That “toned” look they talk about in the locker room comes from lifting real weight – on purpose. Even that won’t make muscles big if they don’t combine the training with the right diet and supplements. We don’t have enough testosterone to build muscles by accident.

The diet needs to be clean. It needs to have the proper balance of macronutrients (protein, fat, carbs). Muscles also need a surplus calories in the system to grow. Sometimes they need calories from carbs, other times from protein, and you have to know which kind of calories to eat and when to eat them. While it is necessary to have eaten a little more than you burn, you have to be careful to not eat too much more because the excess calories may be converted into fat. At night, you have to eat all of the calories that you will burn over night so your muscles will have enough fuel to keep growing.
And to grow, my muscles need natural supplements like amino acids, whey protein, and casein protein. And they will need the proper combination of protein and high glycemic carbs within a 45 minute window after each workout. And I have to drink another protein shake two hours later. Even doing all of this, I didn’t start to feel things really changing until I started taking creatine, a natural substance created by the body that is used to supply energy to muscles. I take about 5 grams a day. The body makes about 1-2 grams a day on its own and there is also creatine in meat.
I lift twice a day for a total of 3 to 4 hours each day. I don’t do any cardio. I now weigh 149 pounds and my body fat is 19.8%. Body fat is more than twice as high as it will be when I compete. The plan is to ignore the fat and build the muscle for the next year.
So when I see those women sitting on a piece of equipment lifting basically nothing, I feel kind of sad for them. I think they might get discouraged because they won’t get results. But I also get annoyed that they are wasting their time and mine while I wait for them to pretend to workout.
It doesn’t happen by accident, sweetie.
P.S. I read somewhere that post menopausal women “find their voice” and aren’t afraid to speak up. Wow. I was sort of like that before. And they will find new passions and directions in life. Explains a lot, huh?
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

