Bodybuilding takes over everything.

‎”Bodybuilding is not just a sport; it’s a way of life. If every aspect of your life is not focused on making the sacrifices necessary to build your best physique,you will ultimately fail and never each your full potential.” ~ Robert Cheeke

I read this quote on Facebook today and it inspired me to write another blog entry this week. People may debate whether bodybuilding is a sport, but no one can dispute that it is a way of life. If you do it for real – meaning you are truly serious about changing your physique – it takes over everything. The way you eat, the way you sleep, how you spend your time, how you talk, how you dress, what you read, and who you hang out with. I’ve had to develop a new vocabulary. Drop sets, strip sets, pumped, ripped, reps, two-a-days, calorie surplus, calorie deficit, NoXplode, BCAA, ATP, glucose, glutamine, creatine, casein, lucine, whey, grip pads, and plates – not the kind you use for food.

I’ve learned more about nutrition and physiology in the last year than I knew in the 48 years before that. All food is measured and logged – and that is second nature to me now.

At night, I dream about working out.

I have not one, but two apps on my iPhone with exercises organized by body part.

Not only do the folks at the gym know me by name, so do the guys at the Vitamin Shoppe by the gym.

I’m inspired by gods and goddesses that bodybuilders know by first name…Cory, Lenda, Jay, Ronnie, Dorian, Kai, Heath, Branch, and Arnold (yeah, even though he’s a jerk, he’s the Man in bodybuilding).

My husband just handed me a little glass of jelly beans. “I wonder how much this is?” I said as I poured them into my palm and determined that there is a ¼ cup of jelly beans. All will be recorded. And eaten. Because it’s a ‘cheat day’. Two days of AWESOME leg workouts and I’m pretty sure the biggest muscles in my body will suck up this glucose. Yeah. That’s how I eat jelly beans now.

I am fascinated by how this all works. How the lifting rips the muscle fibers, the chemicals in the body that are used and released during this process, and how smart nutrition feeds the body to replenish the body to make muscles grow. It’s not just what’s eaten, but when. I see God’s hand in the design of the body and I truly feel blessed to be on this journey. This is my bliss. I can’t imagine that there isn’t a gym in Heaven. I think that means I’m now “hardcore”.

“No citizen has a right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training…what a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable.” – Socrates

********

This week’s accomplishments:

Weight = about 147. I’ve gained 10 pounds since the photo shoot. I think most of that is muscle.

On the Smith machine decline bench press, I lifted 80 pounds in plates. I think that’s 20-30 pounds more than the last time I did those.

Leg pressed 540 pounds.

Daily calorie burn has been about 2800 per day Mon-Thu with no cardio. I used to have to do two cardios – am and pm – to get that burn. Muscles!!

And the best part – Adam let me start deadlifts this week!! I can’t remember the last time we had a such a serious consultation about an exercise before I did it. He’s concerned I will hurt my back. Back is good, but I scraped my shin because I had my feet too close to the bar. Funny.

Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

