So far, so good…

I haven’t written for a while. Training has been going well – or at least better than my last blog post. I’ve been researching, reading, and tweeking my food. I’ve found a couple of articles that are based on the nutrient timing research. I’m getting a little obsessed with using “food as a drug” and planning how to use carbs, protein, and fat in different percentages at different times of the day to maximize muscle growth and loose body fat. The first week with the new protein/carb/fat ratios was tough. I felt good until the 4th day – then I crashed. Had a horrible cardio and it was upsetting. First time since I started training that I felt so low. Trainers at the gym gave me a hard time for being upset about a bad cardio. Maybe they know more than I do – or maybe they just don’t get it at all because they’ve never been a fat, middle-aged woman. Sure the cardio helps me burn calories and lose fat. But the cardio is also how I fight off stress. I need those endorphins! I increased the carbs for one day, felt stronger, and then got back to the plan. This week, I feel great with the same food.

Trainer Adam did measurements about a week ago. In the last month, I’ve lost 1.4% in body fat and gained size in my arms, thighs, and waist. Lost size in my neck, chest, and calves. My pecs are actually developing nicely, but the loss of body fat is causing the girls to shrink – a lot. Oh well. They are just decorative. I like how it looks. Even if I’m starting to look like a rectangle. (My chest is only 2 inches larger than my waist.)
I’m still highly motivated. I can’t wait to go to bed every night knowing I get to wake up early and start another new day. I love the pattern – cardio in the morning and lifting in the afternoon. It’s a long day, but it is fun.
I’m falling asleep as I type this, so I’ve got to finish and head to bed. Tomorrow is going to be a great day – legs and biceps.
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

