How I stick with it when I’m not motivated…

I work out 11 times a week. During the week each workout lasts about 1.5-2 hours, and I do that twice a day. On Saturdays, it is usually 3 hours. And I’m on a fairly strict diet, a clean diet, that requires that I log everything I consume. It also includes two different recipes of protein shakes that I prepare myself. They are different because they are taken at different times of the day and feed my muscles in specific ways that they need to be fed at those times. There are also other supplements, including Chinese herbs for menopause symptoms, that I also take at different times each day.

Yeah, I’m enjoying this – usually – but there are days when it is hard. I have bad days every week, especially toward the end of the week when sleep deprivation has accumulated. In this blog I want to talk about what keeps me going. Sure, I’m goal orientated and disciplined. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have that little voice in the back of my head telling me that I need more sleep, I need more food, or I need to do ___ instead. So when I’m tired, why don’t I quit?
Trainers.
I know some people might think personal training is extravagant, expensive, etc. But the truth is that the training keeps me going. It keeps me motivated, excited, and most importantly – accountable. I have my workouts hard-wired into my schedule. I show up and do what I’m told. I don’t have to think about whether I’m doing the right exercises or if I’m doing those exercises correctly. Someone is watching my form so I won’t get hurt. Last summer, Trainer Nico diagnosed weaknesses and imbalances in my body and designed a program to address them. I trusted him and that program. I did exercises I would have never done on my own, but they strengthened my core and laid down a foundation for the work I’m doing now.
I started working with Adam when Nico had to move. Trainer Adam knows my goals and I like the program we are working now. He knows where I’m weak, where I’m strong, and pushes me to do more than I would ever push myself to do. He’s protective of my 49-yr old muscles and joints so I can be in complete denial that age is an issue. I’ve been taught how to workout, what failure feels like, and I feel confident in the gym. That missing confidence is the reason I never tried bodybuilding before even though I wanted to do this for 20 years. I was intimidated by the gym. I’m not anymore because someone is teaching me how to do what I need to do to get the results I want.
While I’m responsible for the nutrition and cardio, I have to give credit to Trainer Adam for the program design, the teaching, the accountability, and more importantly, the humor and support. He is also controlling and monitoring the Bodybugg program. And I do what the bugg tells me to do. So far, so good. Excellent results.
So on the days when I would talk myself out of a workout or into a binge, I don’t. I can’t.
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

