Nov 27, 2010

Doctor: “Did you know your resting heart rate is 49 beats per minute?”

Me: “yes”
Doctor: “Not that there’s anything wrong with that.”
Me: grinning saying nothing
75 weeks and 55 pounds ago I had high blood pressure and lots of stress and anxiety. Now, I’m feeling great and I have a resting heart rate of an athlete. Freakin’ out the doctor. Tee hee.
This weekend is the anniversary of my mother’s death. She was only 56 and died from a brain aneurysm. She was stressed, smoked, and didn’t eat right. She died too young. Paula died too young. A part of me is motivated to be healthy to avoid dying too young, but I know death is unavoidable. A bigger part of me is motivated by the fear that I will be too busy with daily routines to do the things I really want to do before it’s my time to go home. Bodybuilding is a longtime dream. I’m pretty sure the astronaut thing is not going to happen and becoming a pilot is a little out of reach right now. Maybe I’ll do pilot school after bodybuilding?
Trainer Adam is getting me started on a new training phase this Monday and I’m very excited. Instead of lifting 3 days a week, I’ll be lifting five days a week, twice a day, focusing on one body part in the morning (15-20 sets) and doing abs, low back, and cardio every afternoon. One day will be just cardio and another day will be a rest day. I’ve been doing the two-a-day workouts for a few weeks already, but I’ve been only doing cardio in the afternoons. By New Year’s, I want to be down to 20% bodyfat, so the new muscles will look really neat. Of course, I’ll keep blogging about my progress during this new phase.
And for something completely different – here is a list of ten favorite workout tunes. I have about 30 favorites, but they move up and down the list. These are the ones I listened to today that I liked. These aren’t in any particular order, except that “Firework” is really my favorite this week.
1) “Firework” by Katy Perry
2) “So Obvious” by Runner Runner
3) “I Like It (feat. Pitbull)” by Enrique Iglesias
4) “Dynamite” by Taio Cruz
5) “Let’s Get Loud” by Jennifer Lopez
6) “Looking for You” by Kirk Franklin
7) “Club Can’t Handle Me” by Flo Rida
8) “Down” by Jay Sean
9) “Declaration (This Is It!)” by Kirk Franklin
10)”Trouble” by Pink
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

