Oct 23



These are my role models. Rachel McLish, Ms. Olympia in 1980 and 1982. So yeah, I’ve been thinking about bodybuilding since the early 80’s. In blue, Tosca Reno is 51 yrs old in this pic. I am forever grateful to Kim Rila for introducing me to Tosca’s books. They inspired me to think I could revisit this dream and start it when I’m 48 years old. And also thanks to Nico and Adam, I’m beginning to see little muscles here and there.

Three big changes this week.

1) I haven’t eaten any candy since last Sunday. No biggie. At least not after the first couple of days. Trainer Adam suggested I use grapes or bananas in the afternoon when the craving hits. That worked.
2) Adam changed my Bodybugg program. My daily burn was raised from 2300 to 2500 calories and my activity time was raised from 1 hr 20 min to 2 hours. The activity time is calculated all day long and I usually get anywhere between 30 min to 45 min of activity just doing my day. Workouts make up the rest.
3) To hit those two new daily goals, I realized that I’d have to get more exercise in after work. And since I really like exercising and really hate grading papers, I decided to try to combine these two activities. After work, I packed up the papers and headed back to the gym. I did something a little intense for 20-30 minutes to get my heart rate up, then moved over to the recumbent bike and started grading. The biggest pile took me 65 minutes to finish. The cardio advantages are obvious, but I also was able to stay focused on the task until it was done. I did that three afternoons, so the calorie burns were high.
Results from these changes? I’ve lost lost 5.2 pounds since last Saturday, 10/16. I thought it was a little less than that earlier today, but I just checked my Bugg measurements. I recorded a weight of 151.8 on Oct 16. This morning, it was 146.6. Yup. That’s 5.2 pounds in one week! Holy cow. I stopped at Goodwill on the way to the gym today to pick up a pair of smaller jeans – they were only $5. I don’t think it makes much sense to spend a lot of money while I’m still shrinking. I guess I’ll be doing a lot of “exergrading” from now on.
I need to make a special shout out to Hubby Paul. He has been amazing. So patient with a week’s worth of clean lunches, breakfasts, and protein shakes that take up a ton of room in the frig. Never once has he complained about being awakened every morning at 4 am when I get up to go to the gym. And he did a MASSIVE amount of yard work by himself this week while I was at work or the gym. But he went over and above in support this week. He got me a new blender for the protein shakes, a new microwave popcorn popper for my evening snack, and he made a big batch of chili using a recipe from Tosca’s Eat Clean cookbook for men. THANK YOU, HONEY!! I love you! XXOOOXXOXO

1 Comment

Filed under Old Posts

One response to “Oct 23

  1. blever

    Congrats! What a great week in so many ways :).

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

