Oct 16, 2010

Tough week at work. The morning workouts are so important for me to be able to deal with the stress of the day. Every evening, I look forward to getting up early and getting to the gym. On the “Biggest Loser” last week, one of the contestants said that he believed the body heals itself by creating it’s own pharmaceuticals through exercise. I’m certain that is true since I’m apparently addicted to those endorphins. And I’m not the only one. The same folks are at the gym every morning, too.

Sadly, this week wasn’t a good one for my trainer. He cut off the tip of his thumb cutting onions. I know he’s not clumsy, so his eyes must have been burning or something else distracted him. He worked all week with a lot of pain and I’m very impressed that he didn’t let on how much it hurt. He’s amazing – and a badass. Gotta say that just in case he’s reading this post. I called him a badass today when he made me run around the basketball court carrying plates. One lap with 15 lbs, 2 laps with 25 lbs, and 3 laps with 35 lbs. I couldn’t run the whole time. Then there were side shuffles, half-court runs, and medicine ball work. My lungs were burning. I lost the strap for my heart rate monitor earlier this week so I wasn’t wearing it today. I’m glad I wasn’t. Ignorance is bliss. And that was just the first part of the workout. The rest wasn’t so painful. Hey Adam – it wasn’t easy, but the first part was really hard for me. I didn’t die so it’s all good.
It’s been a month since my measurements were done so Adam checked those today, too. Here they are:
neck = no change
chest = -1.8 in
upper arm = -0.5 in
forearm = no change
waist = -1.5 in
hip = -0.7 in
thigh = -0.5 in
calf = +0.2 in (this is good – it’s muscle)
I entered these measurements into the Bodybugg program and let it calculate bodyfat from them. It said my bodyfat is now 26.1%. It was 29.6% on Oct 2. Adam measured the bodyfat with calipers and got 31%. I like the 26.1% better. What I really like is how motivated I feel to work hard over the next month to make the caliper measurement to be 26%, too. The goal is 20% by the end of November.
I think I’m doing well, but there are some dietary things I think need to be tweeked. I still eat too much candy. Probably 100-200 calories a day. And I’m eating popcorn every evening. I switched from processed microwave popcorn to regular popcorn popped in a brown lunch bag in the microwave. I use spray butter and some popcorn seasoning. These carbs are probably increasing my blood sugar and keeping the abdominal fat from burning off faster. I love these foods, though. I should probably have a plan to phase them out instead of just cutting them out. I could pick a couple of days a week when I don’t eat them. It seems kind of dumb to try to cut out candy entirely two weeks before Halloween. 🙂
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

