Sept 12


Menopause sucks. This week, I had a couple of days when I had to workout in the afternoon. Or I had to skip a day altogether. The anxiety and depression whack me upside the head without those morning endorphins. I’m miserable when I don’t work out and a little bit miserable even when I do. I’m cranky. And I need more sleep. More sleep for muscle recovery, but also because the hotflashes keep me from sleeping well. My job can be a little stressful at times and it certainly takes a ton of time to do, so getting the workouts done and getting enough sleep are a challenge. I’m exhausted at the end of every day. And if there are too many things going on in one day, I feel overwhelmed and can’t focus. As I said, menopause sucks. I’m seeing my doc this week. I’m not sure there is much more that I can do on my own. I’ve got the exercise and diet totally in check. Maybe I need to be eating something else? More soy, maybe? Something for sleeping? Something for anxiety? I hate taking meds.

Three weeks until the Run for the Cure 5k. It doesn’t look like I’ll be able to run the whole thing. I can walk a 5k, but running for longer than a few minutes is a problem. My heart rate goes up way too fast. My feet hurt. Honestly, I don’t think my feet are built for it. (See picture. Yup, those freaky, mutant looking things are my feet.) I think I’ll be kind to myself and let it take longer to get to the “run a 5k” goal. I’m going to do the Race in three weeks, but I won’t worry about running it. Running’s not my passion anyway. I LOVE lifting.
I’ve decided I like my new trainer, so I will start referring to him by name – Adam. He stretched me the other day – and I don’t mean he supervised while I stretched. He pushed and pulled on me to loosen up tight muscles. That felt great.
Ok – my Tylenol PMs are kicking in, so it’s time to log off and get some sleep. I’ll be up at 4:30 to make it to the gym by 5 am.
1 Comment

Filed under Old Posts

One response to “Sept 12

  1. I think you need more sleep! Just sayin'…

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

